New Media

The New Media Center will address the automated customization and targeting of online advertising; creation of new forms of smart media to augment traditional publishing and journalism; acquisition and analysis of data from social media; and extraction of useful information from online multimedia, including text, speech, video, and images. Columbia has a long track record of startups in the new media field, including Newsblaster, MPEG, Dygest, and Musically Intelligent Machines, among others and the Engineering School is already partners with the Graduate School of Journalism on an innovative dual-degree in Journalism and Computer Science. This Center will be housed on the Morningside campus.

Mark Hansen, Journalism

Owen Rambow, Center for Computational Learning Systems (co-chair)
Peter Bearman, Sociology
Augustin Chaintreau, Computer Science
Matthew Connelly, History
Dan Ellis, Electrical Engineering
Laura Kurgan, Architecture
Gary Natriello, Sociology
Anne Nelson, International and Public Affairs

Affiliated Members
Peter Allen, Computer Science
Asim Ansari, Business/Marketing
Eva Ascarza, Business/Marketing
Omar Besbes, Business/Decision, Risk, and Operations
Shih-Fu Chang, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Michael Collins, Computer Science
Steven Feiner, Computer Science
Luis Gravano, Computer Science
Eitan Grinspun, Computer Science
William Grueskin, Journalism
Nizar Habash, Center for Computational Learning Systems
Julia Hirschberg, Computer Science
John R. Kender, Computer Science
Smaranda Muresan, Center for Computational Learning Systems
Suresh Naidu, Economics
Shree K. Nayar, Computer Science
David K. Park, Institute for Social and Economic Research and Policy
Rebecca J. Passonneau, Center for Computational Learning Systems
Dan Rubenstein, Computer Science
Henning Schulzrinne, Computer Science
Dennis Tenen, English and Comparative Literature
Duy Linh Tu, Journalism
John Wright, Electrical Engineering

500 W. 120th St., Mudd Room 524, New York, NY 10027    212-854-5660               
©2014 Columbia University